The State Museum St Isaac’s Cathedral –
The Museum Complex
St Isaac’s Cathedral
Building History

Former St Isaac’s churches

 

The first St Isaac’s temple was erected in 1707 by the order of Peter I in honor of the venerable St Isaac the Dalmatian, the patron saint of the tsar. It was rebuilt from the drawing barn located adjacent to the Admiralty. And the wedding ceremony of Emperor Peter I and Empress Ekaterina Alexeevna took place in this temple.

 

The second stone cathedral was erected by the architect G.I. Mattarnovi on the waterfront of the Neva River.

 

The construction of the third church began during the reign of Catherine II according to the design of Antonio Rinaldi, and was completed in a simplified version by V.Brenna under Paul I. The church appeared out of place in the grand surroundings of the Northern capital and the Emperor Alexander I had announced a competition for the best design to rebuild it. Many celebrated architects of the time had applied, but they failed to fulfill the tsar’s main wish – to retain the altar of the old church inside the new one in order to commemorate the great ancestors.  Finally the tsar had entrusted the task to a young French architect Auguste Montferrand. His design had received the royal approval.

 

 

The Fourth St Isaac’s Cathedral

 

The grand structure conceived by Montferrand required a reliable solid foundation. So the pine piles were driven into the foundation site, and after granite slabs and quarry stones were placed on top of them.

 

The Cathedral’s four facades are decorated with porticos of monolithic granite columns which were quarried at Pyuterlaks, and then transported on barges by water to the building site. The installation of the columns caused admiration among the public – they were raised manually by the means of the wooden scaffolding. In the same way, the columns of the domed drum were brought up from the ground level to a height of 43 meters.

 

The construction of St Isaac’s lasted for four decades and provided a testing ground for new technologies, many of which were employed for the first time. These include: the railway, the light metal dome, and an extensive use of galvanoplastic technique for the interior decoration.

 

The consecration ceremony and the opening of the Cathedral had taken place on May 30, 1858, in the presence of the Emperor Alexander II, the members of the royal family and the choir of 1,200 singers. St Isaac’s became the principal cathedral church of Russia.

Государственный музей-памятник «Исаакиевский собор» –
музей четырех соборов
Исаакиевский собор
История создания

Первые Исаакиевские храмы

Первый Исаакиевский храм был создан в 1707 году по указу Петра I во имя небесного покровителя царя – преподобного Исаакия Далматского. Его переделали из чертежного амбара, находившегося рядом с Адмиралтейством. В этом храме венчались император Петр I и императрица Екатерина Алексеевна.


Второй каменный собор был возведен архитектором Г.И. Маттарнови рядом с набережной Невы.


Третий храм начал строиться в царствование императрицы Екатерины II по проекту Антонио Ринальди, и в упрощенном виде достроен архитектором В.Бренной при Павле I. Собор не соответствовал парадному облику северной столицы, и император Александр I объявил о его перестройке. В конкурсе приняли участие многие известные зодчие, но они не выполнили главного требования царя – в память о великих предках сохранить в новом соборе алтарную часть старого. Государь поручил это молодому французскому архитектору Огюсту Монферрану, его проект перестройки храма получил Высочайшее одобрение.
 

 

 

 

Четвертый Исаакиевский собор

Для грандиозного сооружения, задуманного Монферраном, требовался надежный сплошной фундамент. В дно котлована были забиты просмоленные сосновые сваи, на них уложили гранитные плиты и бутовый камень.


Четыре фасада собора были украшены портиками с монолитными гранитными колоннами, которые вырубались на каменоломне Пютерлакс и по воде доставлялись на баржах к месту строительства. Установка этих колонн вызвала восхищение современников – их поднимали вручную, при помощи деревянных лесов. Так же на высоту 43 метров подняли колонны барабана купола.


Строительство Исаакиевского храма продолжалось четыре десятилетия и стало школой новых технологий, многие из которых использовались впервые, в том числе рельсовый путь, легкий металлический купол и широкое применение в декоративном убранстве гальванопластики.


Церемония освящения и открытия храма состоялась 30 мая 1858 года, в присутствии императора Александра II, членов царской фамилии и хора из 1200 певчих. Исаакиевский собор стал главным кафедральным храмом России.