The State Museum St Isaac’s Cathedral –
The Museum Complex
Savior on the Spilled Blood
Stonework

The Church of the Resurrection of Christ was conceived as one of the principal churches in the capital, designed to serve as a reminder of great deeds performed by the tsar Alexander II the Liberator.

 

The rich and diverse decor of the church was supposed to correspond to its great significance. Stonework plays a particularly important part in creating the stately and festive appearance of the church. Although the stonework is less pronounced in the exterior than in the interior decor, it is still quite conspicuous.

 

 

The most eye-catching are numerous ornamental details around window openings. Decorative elements on the dome drums, frames, kokoshniki, and arched bands are made of Estland marble. The wall base, up to a height of three meters, is lined in dark and light grey granite quarried in the island of German in the Lake of Ladoga. The grey granite slabs alternate with twenty dark red slabs of Norwegian granite that are set in recesses and bear inscriptions in gilt lettering of the acts performed by Alexander II.

 

The pillars of the porch are made of grey granite from Ust-Kamenogorsk.
The architect A.A. Parland made use of colored ornamental stones that came from a variety of Russian and foreign quarries. The craftsmen skillfully exploited the natural beauty and peculiarities of the stone to create the interior that looks like a museum of stonecutting art.

 

The canopy that marks the assassination site of the Emperor was executed of precious and decorative stones from the Urals and Altai region. This is an architecturally complex structure of four grey-violet jasper columns that support a high entablature of Revnevo jasper with stylized vases of Nikolaev jasper on the corners.


The marble floor is stunning, representing 45 mosaic patterns that never repeat themselves. The floor was made by the renowned Novy firm in Genoa, Italy.
 


The walls up to a height of 2,5 m are lined with green Italian serpentine, which was also used to make the raised platform before the iconostasis (solea) and the carved benches along the walls. The stone for the walls, solea, and benches was processed in Naples in 1905. The bases of the four central pillars are faced with labradorite.

 

Colored stone features in the iconostasis more then elsewhere. It was executed by artisans from Novy firm based on the models by Stepanov. The palette of the marble is unique: red and brown at the bottom, growing lighter upwards, and is reminiscent of wood carvings.


Each of the icon stands is a collection of local coloured stones in itself. These are mostly rose and crimson orlets with dark veins of manganese from the Urals. Although beautiful in itself, the orlets is embellished with carved ornaments of jasper from the Urals. The bases of icon stands are of greenish-grey striped Revnev jasper from Altai. Against its background the red columns of Korgon porphyry stand out vividly.


After the church was closed in 1930, its magnificent stone finishing was neglected. There was no heating in the church for over 50 years, the siege of Leningrad and the storage of theater prompts in it had a particularly adverse effect on the Church.
Work to restore the walls began in 1977 and was completed in 1995, and was carried out only during the warm seasons of the year. The interior stonework was restored by teams under A.A. Shcherbakov and S.I. Radchenko (The Restoration Association) from 1980 up to 1994.

Государственный музей-памятник «Исаакиевский собор» –
музей четырех соборов
Спас на крови
Камень

Спас на крови (Храм Воскресения Христова) создавался, как один из главных столичных соборов, призванный своим обликом напоминать о великих деяниях царя-освободителя Александра II.

 

Богатство и разнообразие декора храма должно было соответствовать его великому назначению. Исключительную роль в создании торжественного и нарядного облика собора играет его каменное убранство. И хотя в наружной отделке камень не столь значителен, как в интерьере, но и там он достаточно заметен.

 

 

Прежде всего, бросаются в глаза бесчисленные обрамления и навершия оконных проемов. Украшения барабанов куполов, наличники, кокошники, аркатурные пояски выполнены из эстляндского мрамора. Цоколь здания на фасадах облицован на высоту трех метров темно- и светло-серым гранитом, добытым на острове Германа в Ладожском озере. Блоки серого гранита чередуются с установленными в нишах двадцатью темно-красными плитами норвежского гранита, на которых золотыми буквами запечатлены деяния Александра II.

 

Колонки-«кубышки» крылец изготовлены из серого гранита Усть-Каменогорского месторождения.
Архитектор А.А.Парланд использовал для оформления памятника цветные поделочные камни многих российских и зарубежных месторождений. Умелые мастера показали красоту и природные особенности камня, сделали интерьер храма настоящим музеем камнерезного искусства.

 

Сень над местом смертельного ранения императора была создана из алтайских и уральских драгоценных и поделочных камней. Это сложное архитектурное сооружение на четырех колоннах из серо-фиолетовой яшмы, на которых покоится высокий антаблемент из ревневской яшмы со стилизованными вазами по углам из николаевской яшмы.


Удивительный мраморный пол храма представляет собой 45 мозаичных ковров, ни один из его геометрических узоров не повторяется. Этот пол был изготовлен в Италии, в Генуе, известной фирмой «Нови».
 


Стены собора на высоту 2,5 м облицованы зеленым итальянским серпентинитом, из него выполнена солея иконостаса и резные скамьи вдоль стен. Камень для стен, солеи и скамей обработан в Неаполе в 1905 году. Цоколи четырех центральных пилонов собора облицованы лабрадоритом.

 

Но наиболее ярко представлен цветной камень в отделке иконостаса, изготовленного мастерами генуэзской фирмы «Нови» по моделям лепщика Степанова. Уникален цветовой подбор мрамора: красно-коричневый внизу, он постепенно светлеет выше и напоминает резьбу по дереву.


Каждый из киотов представляет собой коллекцию отечественного цветного поделочного камня. В основном это розовый и малиновый уральский орлец с темными прожилками марганца. Красивый сам по себе, орлец украшен резными орнаментами из уральских яшм. Цоколи киотов – из зеленовато-серой ревневской полосчатой яшмы с Алтая. На фоне этой яшмы эффектно выделяются колонки из красного коргонского порфира.


После закрытия храма в 1930 году его великолепная каменная отделка оказалась на краю гибели. Почти 50 лет памятник не отапливался, особенно тяжело сказались на убранстве храма годы блокады Ленинграда и складирование театральных декораций.
Воссоздание фасадов собора началось в 1977 году и завершилось в 1995 году, работы велись только в теплое время года. Каменное убранство интерьера реставрировали бригады А.А.Щербакова и С.И.Радченко (объединение «Реставратор») с 1980 по 1994 год.