The State Museum St Isaac’s Cathedral –
The Museum Complex
Savior on the Spilled Blood
Mosaics

Mosaics is of the utmost significance in the decor of the Church of the Resurrection, forming one of the largest collections of monumental mosaics in Europe. Among the competitors for a commission to execute mosaics were the renowned Italian firms, such as the Venetian workshop of Antonio Salviatti and Societa Musiva, the German firm Puhl & Wagner, and the mosaic department of the Imperial Academy of Arts. The winner of the contest was Alexander and Vladimir Frolov workshop, a private company founded in 1890. From 1896 to 1907 its masters, skilled in the use of the reverse or venitician technique, assembled over 600 icons and mosaic images with the total area of 7056 sq. m. The sketches for mosaics were created by 32 painters, including Victor Vasnetsov, Mikhail Nesterov, Andrey Ryabushkin, Vasily Belyaev, and Nikolay Kharlamov.

 


Following the iconographic program of the cruciform and domed cathedrals dating from the 17th century, mosaic icons and ornaments fill up rhythmically the spaces of pillars and walls flowing into the curved surfaces of arches, vaults and dome ceilings.


The mosaics are arranged in line with the theological conception of a church. The dome ceiling is filled with the mosaic image of Christ the Pantocrator.


In the central part of the church, on the walls and vaults are depictions of scenes from the Holy Scripture, ranging from the Nativity to the Assumption of Christ. The dome pillars feature over 200 icons with images of church supporters – venerable men, martyrs and apostles. Engrossed in silent worship, they, like faithful sentries, watch over the divine history reflected in the mosaics. The special character of the church introduced some changes in the interior design. There are two focal points in the church: at the east end - the altar with a magnificent image of Christ and at the west end – the canopy over the assassination site with surrounding mosaic images on themes of Golgotha drama.

 

The iconographic program also reflects the local history through images of Russian saints, including the Prince of Vladimir from Kiev and the Princess Olga, the martyred princes Boris and Gleb, Mikhail of Chernigov, the nobleman Fedor, and Alexander Nevsky. The distinctive feature of mosaic decoration here is its colorful and unique ornaments. Following the iconography, they structure, enrich and reinforce the emotional perception of the church imagery.


The mosaics underwent restoration from 1980 to 1994. A team of restorers headed by mosaic artist and painter V.A. Shershnev cleared them, restored and recreated the lost fragments and, thus, revived the unique collection of Russian monumental mosaics dating from the late 19th - early 20th centuries.

Государственный музей-памятник «Исаакиевский собор» –
музейный комплекс
Спас на крови
Мозаика

Исключительную роль в создании художественного образа Спаса на крови (храма Воскресения Христова) играет мозаичное убранство – одно из крупнейших собраний монументальной мозаики в Европе. За право исполнения мозаик соревновались известные итальянские фирмы «Венецианская мастерская» Антонио Сальвиатти и «Societa Musiva», немецкая фирма «Пул и Вагнер», мозаичное отделение Императорской Академии художеств. По итогам конкурса победила основанная в 1890 году частная мастерская Александра и Владимира Фроловых. С 1896 по 1907 год ее мастера, искусно овладевшие техникой «обратного», или «венецианского» набора, набрали свыше 600 икон и мозаичных композиций, общая площадь которых составляет 7 056 квадратных метров. Эскизы к мозаикам создавали 32 художника, в том числе Виктор Васнецов, Михаил Нестеров, Андрей Рябушкин, Василий Беляев, Николай Харламов.

 


Повторяя иконописную программу крестово-купольных соборов XVII века, мозаичные иконы и орнаменты в определенном ритме заполняют поверхности пилонов, стен, плавно переходят в изогнутые поверхности арок, сводов и плафонов куполов.


Расположение мозаик соответствует теологической концепции храма. Плафон центрального купола заполняет мозаичный образ Христа Вседержителя, получивший название «Пантократор».


В центральной части храма, на стенах, сводах представлены события Священного Писания от Рождества до Вознесения Христа. На подкупольных пилонах – свыше 200 икон подвижников церкви: преподобных, мучеников, апостолов. Погруженные в безмолвную молитву, они как верные стражи охраняют Священную историю, отображенную в мозаиках храма. Специфика храма-памятника внесла в его оформление ряд корректив. В храме два смысловых и композиционных центра: на востоке – алтарь с величественным образом Христа; на западе – сень над местом смертельного ранения императора и окружающие их мозаичные образы с тематикой Голгофской драмы.

 

В иконографической программе нашла отражение отечественная история в мозаичных образах русских святых, среди которых князь Владимир Киевский и княгиня Ольга, князья-страстотерпцы Борис и Глеб, Михаил Черниговский и боярин Феодор, Александр Невский. Особенность мозаичного оформления храма - его красочные и неповторимые орнаменты. Подчиняясь иконографии, они организуют, обогащают и эмоционально усиливают образное восприятие храма-памятника.


Реставрация мозаики проводилась с 1980 по 1994 гг. Группа реставраторов во главе с художником-мозаичистом В.А. Шершневым. очистили, отреставрировали и воссоздали утраченные фрагменты отдельных композиций, возродив в Спасе на крови уникальное собрание русской монументальной мозаики конца XIX - начала XX веков.