The State Museum St Isaac’s Cathedral –
The Museum Complex
St Sampson`s Cathedral
Cathedral

The St Sampson`s Cathedral was built by an unknown architect. The stone church of Venerable St Sampson the Hospitable is a single apsed and naved structure with strip foundations of bed plate, with a limestone base, and plastered walls of brick. The height of the building from ground up to the cornice is 8.2 m and to the cross on the dome – 35.1m. Its length outside is 48 m and together with a narthex – 56 m; the nave is 34 m long and 6 m wide.

 


The exterior facades feature shaped cornices, rusticated pilasters, and decorative window surrounds. The north and south walls have an open-air ambulatory with solid vaulting. Tomb slabs are set in the south wall and pillars.


A flight of low staircase leads into the entryway. An outer entrance door is adorned with a high relief showing angels with trumpets (sculpted by Gedlich after sketches by N.E. Lancere) and two seminiches with heads of cherubs. At the eastern end the church terminates with a semicircular apse topped with a crossed dome. The church is mounted with an octagonal drum with blind windows, which, in turn, crowned with five domes. The onion domes are adorned with elaborate gilded crosses.

Государственный музей-памятник «Исаакиевский собор» –
музейный комплекс
Сампсониевский собор
Собор

Сампсониевский собор возведен по проекту неизвестного архитектора. Каменная церковь преподобного Сампсония Странноприимца представляет собой одноапсидный храм, построенный «кораблем», с ленточным бутовым фундаментом из лещадной плиты и известняковым цоколем, с кирпичными оштукатуренными стенами. Высота здания до карниза – 8,2 м; до креста главного купола – 35,1 м. Длина храма снаружи – 48 м, вместе с притвором – 56 м, главного нефа – 34 м, ширина – 6 м.

 


В отделке фасадов использованы профилированные карнизы, рустованные пилястры, декоративные наличники окон. Нижняя часть храма с северной и южной стороны оформлена открытыми галереями со сплошными частными сводами. В южную стену и пилоны вмонтированы надгробные плиты.


Вход в собор оформляет невысокий лестничный марш. Наружная входная дверь декорирована фронтоном с горельефом, изображающим Ангелов с трубами (скульптор Гейдлих по рисунку Н.Е. Лансере), и двумя полунишами с головками Херувимов. С востока храм замыкает полукруглая апсида, над которой установлена маковка с крестом. Собор завершает восьмигранный барабан с ложными окнами, увенчанный пятиглавием. Луковичные главки украшают богато золоченые кресты.