The State Museum St Isaac’s Cathedral –
The Museum Complex
Savior on the Spilled Blood
Construction

The Church was jointly designed by the architect A.A. Parland (1842-1920) and the archimandrite Ignaty (secular name Malyshev, 1811-1897), a rector of the Troitse-Sergievsky Monastery. To fulfill Alexander III’s wish, the cathedral was erected in “the true Russian style”, enclosing the actual assassination site within the walls of the church.

 

 

In late March 1883, the tsar approved the membership of the Building Commission with Grand Duke Vladimir Alexandrovich as its head. The first sitting of the Commission decided to name the future church as the Church of the Resurrection of Christ, as suggested by the archimandrite Ignaty.

 

A fragment of the canal iron-cast railing, a few granite slabs and cobblestones stained with Alexander III’s blood were removed from the site to be kept as relics at the chapel in the Konnyushenaya Square. Consequently, they were returned to where they belonged and a canopy, in the traditions of ancient Russian architecture, was erected over the place. On October 6, 1883, a ceremony was held to mark the laying of the foundation stone attended by Metropolitan Isidor of St Petersburg and Novgorod and members of the Imperial family.



The Church of the Resurrection took 24 years to build. This relatively long span of time can be attributed to the lavish and varied decoration and the use of innovative building and engineering techniques at the time. A pile foundation was abandoned for the first time in St Petersburg’s history in favor of a concrete one. A sophisticated hydro insulation was developed to protect the church from canal waters; steam heating and electrical systems were to be installed.

 

On August 19, 1907, the Metropolitan Antony of St Petersburg and Ladoga consecrated the church, and a new temple emerged at the Catherine canal (now called Griboedov) to perpetuate the memory of Emperor Alexander II.

Государственный музей-памятник «Исаакиевский собор» –
музейный комплекс
Спас на крови
Строительство

Спас на крови (Храм Воскресения Христова) был возведен по совместному проекту архитектора А.А. Парланда (1842–1920) и настоятеля Троице-Сергиевой пустыни архимандрита Игнатия (в миру Малышева, 1811–1897). Они выполнили пожелание Александра III и создали собор в «истинно русском стиле», сохранив место смертельного ранения его отца внутри храма.

 

 

В конце марта 1883 г. царь одобрил состав Комиссии по строительству, которую возглавил великий князь Владимир Александрович. На первом же заседании комиссии по предложению архимандрита Игнатия было решено именовать будущий храм во имя Светлого Воскресения Христова.

 

Фрагмент чугунной решетки канала, несколько гранитных плит и булыжников, обагренных кровью Александра II, были сняты, уложены в ящики и перенесены на хранение, как реликвии, в часовню на Конюшенной площади. Впоследствии они были возвращены на исторические места, над ними возвели сень по образцам древнерусской архитектуры. Торжественная закладка храма состоялась 6 октября 1883 года в присутствии митрополита Санкт-Петербургского и Новгородского Исидора и царской четы.



Храм Воскресения Христова строился 24 года. Достаточно длительный срок объяснялся богатством и разнообразием декора, а также применением передовых для своего времени инженерно-строительных технологий. Впервые в градостроительной истории Санкт-Петербурга отказались от свайного фундамента, заменив его сплошным бетонным основанием и бутовой кладкой. Сложная система гидроизоляции защищала собор от вод канала, были разработаны системы парового отопления и электрического освещения.

 

19 августа 1907 года митрополит Санкт-Петербургский и Ладожский Антоний освятил церковь, и в Петербурге, на Екатерининском канале (сейчас канале Грибоедова) появился храм, увековечивший память об императоре Александре II.