The State Museum St Isaac’s Cathedral –
The Museum Complex
St Isaac’s Cathedral
Stained-glass

 

The stained-glass “The Risen Christ” in St Isaac’s altar window is executed in the Italian Renaissance style, its area being 28,5 sq.m. It is among the largest stained-glass windows in Europe.

 

Leo von Klenze, a Bavarian architect, supervised the work on the stained-glass window and developed an original design for its frame. He personally petitioned to his patron Ludwig I, the king of Bavaria, for permission to produce the stained-glass in Munich and received his consent.
The design for the stained-glass window was altered more than once before the final version was produced by the painter Henry von Guess. In keeping with the traditions of an academic school, it features prominently the so-called “academic triple colour scheme” – the combination of red, blue and white-yellow tones. For some of its details the special paints were used, and then they were heated in the muffle furnace and mechanically treated.

 

 

The incredibly beautiful, vivid, delicate and fresh colours of the stained-glass are for the most part due to the skills of the craftsmen from the Munich firm, in particular to M. Einmiller, one of the Europe’s best mosaic artists. This wonderful master had glass available in over 100 colours and tones. He made use of multilayered glass and a glass that was treated with special dyes.

 

The stained-glass window is made up of two metallic frames affixed by clamps. A thick mirror glass plate is set into the outer frame, while the inner one holds the stained-glass itself composed of coloured semitransparent glass pieces held together with lead solder.

Государственный музей-памятник «Исаакиевский собор» –
музейный комплекс
Исаакиевский собор
Витраж

Витраж «Воскресший Христос» в алтарном окне Исаакиевского собора выполнен в стиле итальянского Возрождения, его площадь – 28,5 кв. м. Это один из наиболее крупных витражей Европы.


Руководил его изготовлением баварский архитектор Лео фон Кленце, разработавший раму особой конструкции. Он лично обратился к своему покровителю королю Баварии Людвигу I за разрешением изготовить витраж в Мюнхене, и получил его согласие.

 


Проектный рисунок витража переделывался несколько раз, окончательный вариант был разработан художником Г.М. фон Гессом и в основном следовал академическим традициям: в картине преобладает так называемая «академическая трехцветка» – красный, голубой и желто-белый тона. Некоторые детали витража расписывались специальными красками, обжигались в муфельной печи и затем подвергались механической обработке.


Во многом необыкновенная красота, сочность, тонкость и свежесть цвета – заслуга мастеров Мюнхенской фабрики, и, главным образом, одного из лучших витражистов Европы М.-Э. Айнмиллера. В распоряжении этого удивительного мастера имелось стекло более 100 различных цветов и оттенков. Он использовал многослойное стекло и стекло, окрашенное специальными красками.


Витражное окно состоит из двух связанных тягами металлических рам. В наружную вставлено толстое зеркальное стекло, во внутренней раме смонтирован сам витраж из элементов цветного полупрозрачного стекла, скрепленных свинцовой пайкой. В оконном переплете он удерживается металлическими креплениями.